Chicken Enchilada Pizza…best of both worlds?

Standard
Chicken Enchilada Pizza…best of both worlds?

Qualifying my husband, Matt, as a fan of Mexican pizza wouldn’t be accurate. He is OBSESSED with the stuff. I–however, never was sold on the idea of mixing two perfect food genres. Mexican and Italian…it just seemed like it was messing with perfection! We just celebrated being together for 5 years on June 30th and tonight was the first time I gave in and made him one–well a variation of one…and boy was I wrong! It turned out to be a fantastic combination!

Lately I have been doing a lot of “pantry shopping” trying hard to avoid going to the grocery store. I reorganized my pantry over the weekend and saw that I had some enchilada sauce on hand. I didn’t think much of it at the time but when I went to Whole Foods today, I saw some pre-made pizza dough. I knew that Matt was flying in from a business trip today, so I threw 2 containers in my basket. I perused the cheese isle and saw a great sale on a bag of organic Monterey Jack cheese. From there the idea of a chicken enchilada pizza was born!

The Ingredients: 

Enchilada sauce–we had the medium-hot variation on hand

Organic black beans

Vegetarian refried beans

Diced chicken –from the never fail crock pot recipe on the previous post! Check it out! Rotisserie chicken will also work well here–but I really like to be able to control the amount of salt we ingest

Monterey Jack Cheese–or whatever you’ve got! who doesn’t love melty, yummy cheese!

Jalapeños  

Pre-made pizza dough— I often make homemade dough, but I’ve been hitting the books hard lately and was looking for a quick meal

How to:

This recipe couldn’t be any easier! With the pre-made dough from Whole Foods you really have the meal prepared before the oven pre-heats! I even made two pizza variations! This recipe also offers a lot of great protein and fiber, things I’m always trying to incorporate into our diets.

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Roll or stretch the pizza dough to your desired thickness and set on cookie sheet or pizza stone–make sure you use a little flour on your counter top so the dough doesn’t stick! and always remember to keep your dough moving so it doesn’t stick to the counter and tear–talk about a mess!
  • Pizza 1: use enchilada sauce as the base OR Pizza 2: use refried beans as base and top with enchilada sauce
  • Next sprinkle a generous handful of cheese–leaving a 1/2 inch border or so, so your toppings don’t overflow over the crust
  • Add the precooked chicken–I sprinkled mine with chili powder and cayenne pepper to give it that extra Mexican kick we crave in our household! do as you wish!
  • Toss a handful of black beans on top
  • and finish with jalapeños–poblanos, regular peppers…again, customize it to your family’s taste and what ingredients you have in the fridge!

Bake for 15-18 minutes. Go ahead and turn on the broiler to really crisp the cheese. Make sure to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn–trust me, you won’t want to take your eyes off of it. Melty. Bubbly. Delicious. This pizza gave us the perfect cheese “stretch”…you know what i’m talking about. After biting into a piece of pizza, you get that fantastic string of cheese from the slice to your mouth. Yumm. Thank goodness we have leftovers!

I hope you enjoy it and let me know what you think! (…does anyone else think that my pizza somewhat resembles a heart? totally not on purpose!)

Leave a Reply

