Pear & aged white cheddar…a delicious combination!

Standard
Pear & aged white cheddar…a delicious combination!

Matt was able to work from home today & I was in a need of a well deserved study break. So of course I wandered into the kitchen…

I bought a few bartlett pears the other day and they have been sitting on the counter. I haven’t done anything with them besides snack on them and they are getting to that extra ripe phase right before they spoil. It was time to use them! I checked out our ever full cheese draw in our refrigerator and found some 1 year aged White Cheddar cheese that we’ve been neglecting. This cheese, my friends, is by far the best bargain for your buck at Wegmans (sorry friends that don’t have Wegmans…it’s quite the grocery store experience!). Each block ranges from $3.50 to a little less than $4 bucks. Our particular block was $3.47 for .65lbs of cheese. Great deal!

Anyway, on to the good stuff! I used my mandolin to slice my pears and also sliced the white cheddar to a similar thickness. Layer them on a whole wheat cracker and drizzle with a bit of honey and you’ve got yourself a terrific snack. I can’t wait to have some friends over so I can recreate these as an appetizer. Talk about easy and definitely a crowd pleaser. I checked the fridge to see if we had any apples on hand–we didn’t…off to the grocery store this weekend, boo0-but I can only imagine how good these would be with apples too. Something about apples & white cheddar. Mmmm. Maybe after our grocery store excursion…

Looking for a little variation? Sprinkle a little cinnamon on top! Yumm.

The Ingredients:

  • Ripe pear–any type of pear you like, I prefer bartlett pears–apples will taste great too!
  • Aged White Cheddar
  • Honey for drizzle
  • Whole Wheat Crackers
  • Cinnamon–optional
How to:
  • Slice pear and cheddar to a similar thickness–they don’t have to be perfect–I like that they are slightly irregular slices
  • Layer crackers–cracker on bottom, lay down a piece of pear, and top with cheddar
  • Use a fork to dip into your honey and lightly drizzle each cracker
  • Sprinkle with cinnamon–optional 
  • Put them on a serving platter and enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

