Vine Ripened Tomato Salsa

Standard
Vine Ripened Tomato Salsa

If you know me at all…you’ll know that I am not a big fan of tomatoes. Matt on the other hand can eat them like apples–all he needs is a little salt and he bites right into them. Eeeek. I’ve been warming up to them in the past couple of years though–as long as I squeeze out all the gooey seeds before eating them. Randomly enough, I do love two tomato products: ketchup & salsa (if you’re wondering I’m a strictly butter only on pasta–unless it’s homemade sauce). Since salsa encompasses all the gooey stuff in tomatoes I am sometimes surprised myself that I love it so much. I put it on a lot of foods too–ranging from scrambled eggs to traditional tacos.

At the grocery store, the tomatoes looked particularly fresh. I’m a sucker for buying produce if they’re unloading the shipment fresh, so I decided to grab a few of the vine ripened tomatoes. Avocados were on sale too & Matt is always asking for a taco night (we used to do Taco Tuesday’s ever week but somehow we’ve strayed from that tradition), so I figured I could surprise him with a Mexican night. Something about homemade salsa in the summer is particularly magical. What a healthy, quick treat. I make a lot of versions of homemade salsa–peach salsa, mango-pinapple salsa–but today I decided to go the more traditional route. It was fantastic.

The Ingredients: 

Equipment needed: Food Processor 

  • 3-4 vine ripened tomatoes
  • 1 small red onion
  • 2-3 large cloves of fresh garlic
  • Jalapeños-I used pickled because I forgot to pick up some fresh ones 
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon or lime 
  • Dried oregano 
  • Salt & fresh cracked black pepper
How to:
  • Roughly chop the red onion into large pieces–rinse under cold water to get rid of the pungent onion smell/taste 
  • Add to food processor and lightly pulse to break it down a bit
  • Roughly chop tomatoes and add to food processor
  • Slowly pulse to break down tomatoes 
  • Grate 2-3 large cloves with micro-planer directly into food processor 
  • Add desired amount of jalapeños based on your heat preference--I added about 1/4 of pickled jalapeños (considerable less spicy than fresh jalapeños)
  • Add juice of 1/2 lemon or lime–the citrus juice really helps keep the flavors clean 
  • Add salt and pepper to taste as well as a pinch of dried oregano
  • Pulse to desired consistency and serve chilled 

Hope you enjoy it! I’ve already snacked on it twice since I’ve made it! 
2 responses »

  1. This is BRILLIANT! I can’t wait until I have more free time to test things out! I had been seeing your posts on my phone and wasn’t aware of the full picture! Also, are these original photos you took of your concoctions? Next you should start a photography blog. Eee. Love it love it love it!

    • They are all my own photos! We just purchased a new camera so it has been fun learning how to use it! I love it so far. Let me know when you test things out! Even better suggestion…come be my professional recipe tester!

Leave a Reply

