Individual Peach, Apple, & Cherry Crisp

Standard
Individual Peach, Apple, & Cherry Crisp

My husband, Matt, was craving apple crisp so I decided to fulfill his request…and to mix it up a bit and create my own recipe highlighting the perks of summer. Since apple crisp reminds me of fall (and there is no way that I’m ready for fall yet), I knew I had to add my own summery twist to a classic. I have been obsessed with peaches this summer, so they were an obvious choice to incorporate into my recipe redo. I also have a huge (seriously–almost an addiction) to sweet cherries. We lived in MI for a while and the only perk of living there was how cheap the cherries were during the season. My habit has become quite expensive since we’ve moved–but I refuse/can’t give them up. A few of my favorite things all wrapped into one yummy, bubbling morsel? Yes, please.

I decided to make a small batch since we are trying to eat healthy/minimize junk…but still feed our cravings so we wouldn’t splurge elsewhere. I came up with a super yummy recipe that makes 4 individualized portions of Peach, Apple, & Cherry Crisp. Enjoy!

The Ingredients:

Necessary equipment: 4 large (about 4.5 inch) ramekins 

  • 4 ripe peaches
  • 2 apples
  • Cherries
  • Lemon juice
  • Salt
  • Butter
  • Flour
  • Sugar
  • Brown Sugar
  • Old fashion oats
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • Peel apples and peaches: if you put peaches into boiling water for 1 minute and then plunge them into an ice bath, the skin easily peels off. I was able to carefully cut away the peach skin with my paring knife without hassle.
  • Slice apples and peaches to similar thickness into a bowl
  • Add cherries to mixture remembering to remove all their pits–I added about 1/4 cup
  • Add lemon juice to prevent the apples from browning
  • To bowl add: 1.5 tbs of flour, 1 tsp sugar, a sprinkle of cinnamon, & a pinch of salt–this is your filling
  • For the topping: in another small bowl, add: 3 tbs old fashioned oats, 3 tbs flour, 1.5 tbs sugar, 2 tbs brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a 1/4 tsp nutmeg 
  • Add 4 tbs of cold butter–mix butter with topping mixture with your fingers until butter is well incorporated (should look like pea sized lumps)
  • Spray ramekins with nonstick cooking spray and evenly distribute your filling to each ramekin
  • Liberally coat each ramekin with topping mixture and evenly distribute topping until there is none left
  • Place ramekins on cookie sheet and bake for 35-40 minutes–topping will be bubbly and fruit will be fork tender

Enjoy with a little ice cream or whipped cream. They are delicious! I am glad I only made individual servings because I would have most definitely wanted seconds!

Leave a Reply

