Baked Zucchini Chips

Standard
Baked Zucchini Chips

Matt and I went out to a Greek restaurant in Philly last Saturday called Opa. It is newly renovated with a pretty cool scene. The specialty cocktails were pretty tasty but my favorite thing about the meal were the zucchini chips served with a tzatziki dipping sauce. Their version was fried but I knew I would be able to come up with something just as tasty without all the calories. I decided to try baking my zucchini and they came out really delicious. I will say that they are quite time consuming because it takes awhile for the veggies to crisp…but they are definitely worth the wait. In place of the tzatziki I made my dipping sauce with Greek yogurt and a few other flavors.

I tried two cooking methods: placing the zucchini right on the baking sheet and placing the zucchini on a baking rack. I will say that I think that just placing them on the baking sheet worked better. Maybe if I were to set the oven to a higher temperature the baking rack would come in handy to make sure heat was able to surround all sides of them before they burn. Perhaps next time I’ll test my theory and update you all with any new results.

Anyhow, I think they are definitely worth a try! They should be eaten the same day they are baked–or else they lose their crispiness and will need to be thrown back into the oven. It’s really no problem to finish them though. I used 2 large zucchinis and it yielded about 1 cup of chips. It’s not a bad way to get one of you daily servings of veggies.


The Ingredients:

Necessary equipment: mandolin will make this much easier, but you can slice by hand

  • Zucchini 
  • Cooking Spray
  • Flavoring or your choice: I used Salt for one batch and garlic salt & cayenne for the other

How to:

Preheat oven to 225 degrees

  • Slice zucchini to about 1/8 of an inch
  • Line baking sheet with foil, parchment paper, or a cooking mat
  • Place zucchini on baking sheet and spray with non stick cooking spray
  • Sparingly season the zucchini medallions–as the flavors really concentrate as they cook down (definitely better to under-season than over-season since you can always add more salt later)
  • Place in preheated oven and bake 50 minutes. After 50 minutes have elapsed–rotate baking sheet and bake an additional 30-50 minutes
  • Check on chips periodically to monitor their crispiness
  • Take out of oven at desired crispiness and let cool slightly before serving 

Greek yogurt dipping sauce

The Ingredients:

  • Greek yogurt
  • Lemon juice
  • 1 clove of fresh garlic
  • Dried Dill
  • Salt & Pepper  

How to:

  • Add 1/2 cup greek yogurt to a small bowl
  • Season with a squeeze of lemon juice & salt and pepper
  • Grate 1 clove of garlic over yogurt and add a liberal shake of dried dill
  • Stir and serve with zucchini chips 
Leave a Reply

