How to Roast Chicken on the Bone

Standard
How to Roast Chicken on the Bone

Chicken on the bone was something I avoided eating for several years because it well…creeped me out. Now that I am the primary cook in the house, I’ve learned that chicken on the bone doesn’t have to be scary and it is often a lot cheaper than the boneless counterpart. Today at Whole Foods I bought nearly 3lbs for less than 10 dollars…you can’t beat the price.  I had to convince myself that it all started on the bone…just that someone did the work for me before it got home. Once I got over my general freaked-outness I have learned that chicken on the bone is quite tasty and doesn’t dry out like boneless chicken can in the oven. It’s really a never fail kind of preparation and sets you up for easy recipes later in the week if you roast a few breasts in the oven earlier in the week.

Once the chicken is throughly cooked, it is easily cut away from the bone and cubed for a variety of recipes. The chicken skin peels easily off the chicken and because you left it intact you can always count on your chicken never being dry. I often throw boneless chicken into the crockpot but this is just as easy if you find a better deal at the grocery store like I did.

A necessity in the kitchen…a digital thermometer. I bought this one at C&B on sale for $8 dollars regular $25.

The Ingredients:

  • Bone in, skin on chicken breasts
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Olive oil

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • While oven is preheating, rinse chicken off with cool water
  • Pat chicken dry with paper towels and drizzle each piece of chicken with olive oil
  • Liberally salt and pepper each side of each piece of chicken and arrange on a baking sheet
  • Bake chicken for 35-40 minutes until internal temperature of the chicken reaches 165 degrees and juices run clear 
  • Allow chicken to cool on a baking rack
  • Once chicken is cool enough to handle, cut chicken away from bone and store in an airtight container 
Leave a Reply

