Homemade Dulce de Leche

Standard
Homemade Dulce de Leche

Hi friends! Sorry for the week long hiatus. We have been busy traveling for a wedding and had an opportunity to catch up with some of our lovely friends in Indianapolis. We had a fantastic trip visiting with my husband’s family and my two favorite 8 and 6 year old little girls. It was definitely a busy couple of days but despite how great our trip was, it was amazing to sleep in our own bed last night! I remember as a child I was able to sleep soundly anywhere, but now that I am older that is definitely not the case. I guess our king sized bed has really spoiled us. I thought I’d share a few pictures for our trip. The photo immediately below was one Matt was able to capture of a hummingbird while sitting in my mother in law’s living room. I absolutely adore it. The other photo is of my extended family highlighting Matt’s step brother Christopher and his new wife Sarah on their wedding day.

Anyway, enough about our travels and onto this delicious treat! I have seen Dulce de Leche everywhere lately, so I thought it was time to give it a try. I’ve seen several recipes where you just boil the aluminum can that the Sweetened Condensed Milk comes in…but I wasn’t into that version because I was worried about all the toxins that would enter the Dulce de Leche as a result. Consuming gross toxins is not on my list to do, so I tried to think of another way to cook the condensed milk safely. I checked my cabinets and remembered that I had a mason jar from when we ate our dessert from Barbuzzo. My problem was solved. All you have to do is transfer the sweetened condensed milk to the mason jar and throw it in the crock pot for a few hours. Genius. My mason jar was just a mini one, so I was only able to cook one can of condensed milk. It’s on my to do list to buy a larger one so I can make a bigger batch the next time.

The Ingredients:

Necessary equipment: Mason jar with lid & Crock Pot 

  • Sweetened Condensed Milk

How to:

  • Transfer desired amount of sweetened condensed milk to a mason jar
  • Place the lid on the mason jar and completely submerge in water–it is important to make sure that water completely covers the jar throughout the whole cooking time to ensure the Dulce de Leche doesn’t burn
  • Turn crock pot on low and cook for 8 to 9 hours–the other bonus to cooking in a mason jar is that you can see the level of doneness instead of guessing if cooking in a can 
  • Use kitchen tongs to lift mason jar out of crock pot being very careful as the water can do some serious damage
  • Store in the refrigerator

Once cooled you have several options on how to eat it! So far I have swirled some into my coffee (in love with it–no sweetener necessary!) and dipped apples in it (best tasting carmel apple ever!). I have plans to swirl it into brownies this week or even serve in place of maple syrup on pancakes. I’ll have to see what delicious things I can come up with! This recipe is also amazing because you can throw it in the crock pot before bed and when you wake up, you have your very own homemade caramel sauce.

Leave a Reply

