Spicy Thai Chicken and Basil

Standard
Spicy Thai Chicken and Basil

Thai food is one of our favorite types of cuisines. I have been recently experimenting in the kitchen to try to figure out how to recreate our favorite dishes at home. While out shopping recently, I found a Thai spice mix that I have been wanting to use. I’m not certain of all the spices in the Thai mix but I do know that there is cumin, sesame seeds, dried chiles, and I think some sort of garlic powder. I used the mix to season the chicken in the dish but if you don’t have a Thai spice mix you can easily substitute. I am really happy with the way to dish turned out. I liked the addition of the carrots and the corn because it adds a small amount of sweetness to a spicy dish. The fresh basil imparts a fantastic flavor that I don’t think would be the same with dried basil (so I highly recommend using fresh basil). I served the chicken over frozen whole grain brown & wild rice that only required a few minutes in the microwave. All in all I think the meal was a success and I look forward to making it again in the future.

The Ingredients:

  • 1lb of skinless, boneless chicken breast
  • 2-3 tsp of Thai spice blend or use salt & pepper to season chicken
  • 1/2 pepper–I used green because that’s what I had on hand
  • 1/2 fresh snow peas
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced on a bias
  • 1-4-1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 15-18 fresh basil leaves
  • 2-3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 tsp fish oil
  • 1-2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2-3 tbs of Sriracha–based on your desired level of spiciness
  • Brown rice

How to:

  • Slice chicken into thin strips
  • Preheat wok and add enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan
  • Add sliced chicken and 2-3 tsp of Thai spice blend or salt and pepper
  • Sauté chicken until almost cooked through–about 4-6 minutes
  • Add onion, carrots,and peppers–sautéing until tender but not cooked through
  • Add frozen corn, snow peas, and minced garlic
  • Add 1-2 tsp of fish oil, 1-2 tsp soy sauce, and 2-3 tbs of Sriracha
  • Cook until liquid is reduced by half–about 3-4 minutes
  • In the last minute of cooking, add 15-18 fresh basil leaves
  • Serve chicken mixture over rice and serve hot
Leave a Reply

