Peach & Pineapple Salsa

Standard
Peach & Pineapple Salsa

I love love love homemade salsa. It encompasses all the deliciousness of summer in a single bite. I try to eat as many fresh fruits and veggies as possible during the summer because not only is it good for your body but it’s when everything taste the best. Nothing compares to fresh picked produce in my book. I can’t wait to eventually have my own garden instead of growing herbs on my urban windowsill.

Anyhow, I make many variations of salsa (try my traditional Vine Ripened Tomato Salsa or Avocado Mango Salsa) but this is one of my favorites! I think salsa is a great, inexpensive way to entertain. I like to make a few variations and allow guest to sample each kind–it makes a get together a lot less boring having variation. This particular recipe is one of my favorites because it is a great balance between sweet and spicy. The fresh peaches and pineapple provide a sweet and tangy quality to the salsa that balances the heat from the jalapeños peppers. Trust me–you’ll love it.

The Ingredients: 

Equipment needed: Food Processor 

  • 3-4 vine ripened tomatoes
  • 1-2 large ripe Peaches, peeled and diced
  • 1/2-3/4 cup of chopped pineapple
  • 1 small red or sweet onion
  • 2-3 large cloves of fresh garlic
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of pickled Jalapeños--depending on your heat preference; I actually use a lot more than I usually do in regular salsa because the heat is balanced nicely by the fresh, sweet fruit
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon or lime
  • Small pinch of Oregano
  • Salt & fresh cracked black pepper
How to:
  • Roughly chop the red onion into large pieces–rinse under cold water to get rid of the pungent onion smell/taste
  • Add to food processor and lightly pulse to break it down a bit
  • Roughly chop tomatoes and pineapple and add to food processor
  • Slowly pulse to break down mixture
  • Grate 2-3 large cloves with micro-planer directly into food processor
  • Add desired amount of jalapeños based on your heat preference–I added a little less than a 1/2 cup of pickled jalapeños (considerable less spicy than fresh jalapeños)
  • Pulse to desired consistency
  • Stir in diced peaches and add juice of 1/2 lemon or lime–the citrus juice really helps keep the flavors clean
  • Add salt, pepper, and oregano to taste and serve chilled
Leave a Reply

