White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

Standard
White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies

Ah. So sorry for the hiatus! It’s not that I haven’t been cooking but I have been so busy that today is the first day I’ve had a chance to upload any photos to our computer. This past week with the holiday and celebrating Matt’s birthday hasn’t left me with much free time at all. The good news though is that for the holiday and Matt’s birthday I came up with some delicious treats and meals that I can’t wait to share. Tonight we are packing up to spend the weekend in Maine with my family–so hopefully I’ll have a little time to update you all on all things delicious from Maine that we eat.

Anyway, enough with the catchup and onto one of my favorite cookie recipes. Matt isn’t a big fan of birthday cake so I spoiled him with two non-cake desserts for his birthday. One being white chocolate macadamia nut cookies–also known as crack cookies in our house because they are so addictive and another treat that you’ll have to wait and see. I will tell you though that the other dessert is a fall favorite and is as equally as addictive as these cookies. Beware!

The Ingredients: 

Recipe adapted from: Joy of Cooking

  • *2 1/2 cups all purpose flourI substituted in 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • *1 tsp. baking soda
  • * 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup–2 sticks–room temperature unsalted butter
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped macadamia nuts
  • 1 1/2 cup coarsely chopped white chocolate–if you’re going to use white chocolate chips I’d recommend Ghirardelli

*Mix 3 bolded dry ingredients into a bowl and whisk together before starting the recipe

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees 

  • Beat in large bowl: 1 cup softened butter, 1 1/3 cups sugar, & 2/3 cup dark brown sugar until light and fluffy
  • Add one egg at a time to butter mixture and 2 tsp of vanilla–mixture should be a pale yellow color at the point
  • Stir in dry ingredients adding about 1/3 of the dry ingredients at a time until just mixed with wet ingredients
  • Stir in 1 cup of macadamia nuts and 1 1/2 white chocolate
  • Drop heaping teaspoons of cookie mixture onto greased or lined cookie sheets, spacing each cookie about 1 1/2 inches apart
  • Use a greased cup (sprayed with cooking spray) to gently flatten the cookies
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes and let stand briefly before transferring to a baking rack to cool

If you choose to add whole wheat flour I will warn you that it produces a much crispier cookie. Matt prefers his cookies that way because he likes to dip them in milk, where as I prefer the softer cookies. It’s all about preference. I really do enjoy the nutty flavor that the whole wheat flour imparts on this recipe. I hope you enjoy them! And please give me feedback on which you enjoy your homemade cookies.

Leave a Reply

