BBQ Chicken Quesadillas

Standard
BBQ Chicken Quesadillas

Sorry about the hiatus! Transitioning back to a full time student after some time off definitely takes a lot of time and effort! I have been exhausted but fortunately I have been learning a lot! We have been cooking at home a lot though..so despite the fact that I haven’t had much free time to post recipes lately, there are a lot of recipes to share in the near future. I hope everyone is enjoying the transition from summer to fall (although the weather has been pretty strange around these parts, so it hasn’t really felt like autumn consistently yet). I know I am looking forward to going apple picking, drinking cider, and making apple cider doughnuts! I love the fall and finally breaking all my favorite pairs of boots out of the closet!

I think you’ll observe a new trend in my approach to cooking…most of my recipes lately have been ones that I can throw together in less than 30 minutes. Today’s recipe was using some of the things that I commonly keep in my refrigerator! Whole wheat tortillas, precooked chicken or rotisserie chicken, and homemade BBQ sauce. I also always have fresh cheddar and mozzarella on hand. I recently purchased the Hot Pepper mix from Potbelly Sandwiches which I added to my quesadilla creation. The result was so so so good. I am actually looking forward to eating them again in the near future!

I hope you enjoy some of the quick, healthy meals I’ve been preparing lately and that you try to incorporate the recipes into your busy schedule as well. I made these quesadillas directly on my panini press and they came out fabulous and were prepared in a snap.

The Ingredients:

  • Precooked chicken
  • Whole wheat tortillas
  • Your favorite cheese: I used sharp cheddar
  • Hot pepper mix (optional)
  • BBQ sauce

How to:

  • Preheat panini machine or a large skillet
  • Shred desired amount of cheese
  • Add precooked chicken, desired amount of BBQ sauce, and hot peppers in a bowl
  • Place one tortilla on hot surface and layer chicken mixture and fresh grated cheese over tortilla
  • Top with other tortilla and heat until tortilla is crusty, cheese is melted, and chicken is heated through
  • Enjoy! Took me maybe 15 minutes start to finish, including cleanup:)
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

