It’s finally here! Pasta Carbonara

Standard
It’s finally here! Pasta Carbonara

I am so sorry about the long hiatus! I have been living in exam/quiz/practical world for the past few weeks. Busy life as a PA student! Fortunately I know that the day I become a certified PA and see my 1st patient the countless hours of studying will be worth it! I have been lucky to make some really great friends and am so fortunate to have a husband that supports me completely. He even has become a frequent dishwasher and laundry folder. I couldn’t ask for a better husband:)

Anyhow, a few weeks ago I promised a to die for Pasta Carbonara recipe and I’m finally going to deliver! This was the first time I used pancetta in place of bacon in my recipe and it was really delicious. If bacon is all you have on hand, you can’t go wrong! What is more comforting than a pasta dish with eggs, cheese, and bacon? mmm, it may be time for me to make it again!

The Ingredients:

  • 1 lb pasta
  • 4 oz diced pancetta
  • 8 oz of finely shredded parmesan cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbs of fresh parsley
  • Lots of fresh cracked black pepper 

How to:

  • Cook pasta according to package directions
  • While the pasta is cooking, fry the pancetta until just crisp (in a large pan)
  • Remove from the pan and drain pancetta on paper towels
  • Pour off left over grease reserving about 1 tsp
  • Return the pan to the stove over medium-low heat and sauté the onions and garlic (cook until golden brown)
  • In a bowl, mix together eggs, parmesan, milk, and pepper until smooth
  • When the pasta is done, reserve a cup or two of the pasta water (I usually use my coffee cup to skim out liquid before I drain the pasta over the sink)
  • Drain the pasta and return it to the pan you cooked the bacon and remove the pan from the stovetop heat
  • While the pasta is still hot, slowly drizzle in the egg mixture, stirring the pasta the whole time.
  • If necessary, add a little hot pasta water to help make a really delicious sauce that coats all of the pasta
  • Add pancetta, fresh parsley, and any extra salt to taste and enjoy!
 

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

