Chicken Pad Thai II

Standard
Chicken Pad Thai II

Lately, I have been obsessed with Thai food. For whatever reason I have become insatiable when it comes to the stuff. It took all I had tonight not to order it while studying for my big exam this week. Anyhow, I decided to experiment a little and see what I could come up with the other day. I was pleasantly  surprised with my new twist (considering I’ve only made it a few times before). It was perfectly citrusy and spicy at the same time. I think it tastes a little more authentic then my original Pad Thai recipe I adapted from one of my cook books. You’ll have to give it a try and see which one you prefer. Hopefully, my cravings will subside long enough for me to share the recipe before I find myself in the kitchen making another batch. Also, this recipe is easily adapted and will taste great if you decide to add shrimp or tofu in place of chicken. I hope you enjoy it!

The Ingredients:

Makes 4-6 servings

  • 8oz package of Pad Thai noodles–I used Brown Rice Noodles made with 100% whole grain
  • 2 tsp canola oil
  • 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic
  • 3/4-1 lb chicken breast; if you put chicken in the freezer a few minutes before slicing, it makes it a lot easier to slice into thin strips 
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 pound bean sprouts; they were out at Whole Foods, so if I could have I would have totally added these to this recipe
  • 1 ounce chives–roughly chopped
  • For the sauce:
    • Juice of 2 whole limes- mine were small, you could probably get away with using one large lime 
    • 3 tbs fish sauce
    • 1 tbs sugar
    • 2-3 tbs of Sriracha; we like things spicy, so adjust based on your heat preference
    • 2-3 large shallots, finely diced
    • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped peanuts

How to:

  • Soak rice noodles according to package in hot water–the brand I used only needed to be soaked 8 minutes
  • Drain noodles and squeeze out excess water
  • Heat 2 tsp of canola oil in wok on high heat–I used enough to cover the bottom of my wok
  • Once pan is preheated, add thinly sliced chicken (add salt & pepper to chicken once it is in the pan–not too much salt though because fish sauce is salty)
  • Grate 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic over chicken and add diced shallots, sautéing chicken until cooked through
  • Remove chicken and add lightly scrambled eggs in the middle of wok–mixing eggs only after they have set–otherwise they won’t scramble into large pieces
  • Add rice noodles and 1/2 of the bean sprouts and mix well–I used kitchen tongs the whole time I cooked this dish and it made stirring and serving the dish really easy
  • Add chicken back to pan, as well as lime juice and fish sauce mixture to noodles
  • Mix the sauce into the chicken/noodles until well incorporated; cook for about 3 minutes
  • Serve hot & garnish with chives and peanuts if desired
Leave a Reply

