White Cheddar, Chive, and Sage Biscuits and Chorizo Gravy

Standard
White Cheddar, Chive, and Sage Biscuits and Chorizo Gravy

Homemade biscuits are one of my favorite things to make…not too mention they are simple and delicious! Once you try them, you’ll honestly never go back to buying canned biscuits again. I have a recipe that’s from right near my hometown that I have been using for years, with fantastic results every time. Today I decided to add 1/4 cup of aged white cheddar, 1/2 tsp of chives, and a small amount of chopped sage to my favorite biscuit recipe.  I hope that you’ll give them a try soon! You’ll have them prepared and in the oven in less than 10 minutes.

I know for some, the idea of making homemade gravy is a little daunting. I have a slurry maker from Pampered Chef that makes this task super easy. All I do is add a few tablespoons of flour to about a cup of milk with fresh cracked black pepper and within 5 minutes of cooking a delicious gravy is formed. If you don’t have a slurry maker, you can make this without problem by whisking together the flour and milk together before adding it to your pan. It’s really that simple!

The Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of chorizo sausage or sausage of your choice; ours was spicy chorizo so I didn’t have to add many spices but if you buy plain I’d recommend adding red pepper flakes, black pepper, and fresh herbs
  • 3 tbs flour
  • 1 cup of milk + more to add to pan until desired amount of gravy is made
  • Salt and fresh cracked black pepper

How to:

  • Preheat medium sized sauté pan
  • Add sausage to pan and cook throughly
  • Once sausage is cooked, remove from pan to allow sausage to drain on paper towels (this is also the time I drain most of the grease from my pan)
  • Reduce the cooking temperature to medium heat, adding milk and flour mixture slowly while whisking continuously
  • Whisk over medium heat until gravy becomes thick, adding small amounts of milk until desired amount of gravy is made
  • Return sausage to pan and stir until sausage is coated evenly with gravy
  • Add salt, fresh cracked black pepper, and desired fresh herbs
  • Spoon over homemade biscuits and enjoy

Leave a Reply

