Maple Sausage, Pepper, & Potato Breakfast Casserole

Standard

Husbands ask for a lot of things…and some requests are harder to grant than others. Like when they try to convince you that entertaining the idea of them growing a mustache for a month will make them look cool or when they think its a good idea to watch television in place of folding laundry. Thankfully, one for a breakfast casserole was something I could happily oblige to. Not only does it make husband happy (and possibly more inclined to fold laundry while watching football) it’s easy to throw together and tastes amazing.

IMG_2452

mmmm cheese and sausage, what more could you ask for?

Here’s a little story for all of you, we’re friends now right? It seems as though we’ve had a pretty steady friendship for the past 6 months and I feel ready to open up to all of you. Anyhow, now that we’ve established our virtual relationship, here’s the story. This one time, my very sweet husband, thought it would be a great idea to cook me breakfast. He actually surprised me while I was still sleeping. I woke up to a very proud husband. Matt announced, “I made you eggs!” I smiled and was excited about his very thoughtful gesture. He poured me a glass of orange juice and said “Not only did I make you breakfast, but there is a secret ingredient!” Yeah, I was worried too. So I smiled, picked up a forkful of the mystery eggs. I couldn’t even chew it….it tasted that bad! I gulped it down. Care to guess what was in them? Maple syrup, hot peppers, and feta cheese. Don’t get me wrong, these are actually a few of my favorite things. Mixed into eggs together however, not so great. I politely ate my whole plate but I’ll tell you I sure didn’t ask for seconds…

The Ingredients: 

Makes an 8 x 8 pan

  • 8 0z frozen of potatoes  
  • 5 eggs scrambled
  • 1 lb of breakfast sausage
  • 1/2 red pepper & 1/2 yellow pepper, diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup of freshly grated cheese, I used pepperjack (I actually roughly chopped a block of cheese and put it in my food processor to grate it; great time saving tip!)
  • Salt and pepper

How to:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

  • Preheat a medium size sauté pan with a small amount of olive oil over medium heat
  • Dice veggies and once pan is preheated add sausage to pan and cook thoroughly
  • Once sausage is cooked through, add diced onions, minced garlic, and peppers
  •  Sauté until veggies soften, about 4 minutes, and mix in frozen potatoes until heated through
  • Poor veggie and potato mixture into an 8×8 pan
  • Pour scrambled eggs evenly over pan and top with cheese
  • Cover with tinfoil and bake for 25-30 minutes
  • Once mixture is bubbly, remove tinfoil and place under broiler until cheese is nice and crunchy
  • Serve hot and enjoy

I promise it doesn’t taste like feta, maple syrup, and hot pepper eggs and you’ll definitely want seconds.

Leave a Reply

