Mini Angel Food Cupcakes

Standard

Hi! Remember me!? I know…it has been a much longer hiatus than I anticipated! I apologize for just up and disappearing like that! In case you have been drooling over the mini angel food cupcakes, I thought that it was time that I FINALLY shared the recipe. What a cliff hanger, eh? Over a 2 month wait! On the bright side, school has been going fantastic! I am officially half way done my didactic year (thank goodness!). I hope you all have been enjoying the signs of spring:) I know I enjoyed the sunshine on my walk to the library this afternoon. Today I’ll share my recipe for the mini angel food cupcakes and hopefully get the one for the amazing, homemade strawberry buttercream frosting to you in the near future. I am looking forward to cooking with fresh ingredients over the next few months, so I promise to start sharing more again soon. I would love to hear from you! Any suggestions on receipes you’d like to see on kitchen anatomy in the near future? 
IMG_2375

IMG_2404

The Ingredients:
  • 4 large egg whites
  • ½ tsp cream of tarter
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup sifted powdered sugar
  • ⅓ cup sifted flour
  • Pinch of salt

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • Place mixing bowl in the freezer until nice and cold (the true secret to making fluffy egg whites!)
  • Add egg whites to a bowl and let them sit at room temperature for about an hour
  • Line a mini-cupcake pan with cupcake liners
  • Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until they are foamy
  • Add cream of tarter, then beat at medium-high speed until soft peaks form (about 5 minutes)
  • Add granulated sugar while continuing to mix on medium speed, then add the vanilla extract
  • Whisk together the powdered sugar and flour in a bowl
  • Add ⅓ of the dry ingredients over the egg whites and gently fold with a spatula until just combined
  • Repeat with the rest of the dry ingredients until everything is combined (Make sure you do not over stir the batter, we want the egg whites to stay as light and fluffy as possible)
  • Use a teaspoon to fill each liner with batter until ¾ full
  • Bake for 15-18 minutes (depending on your oven), or until tops are golden brown and spring back when you poke them
  • Let cool completely before frosting

2 responses »

Leave a comment